Serving Sangamon and surrounding counties


your community foundation

Board of Directors

The members of the Board of Directors of the Community Foundation for the Land of Lincoln reflect a cross-section of the community. The board has representation from community and business leaders with long histories of volunteerism and philanthropic support. The Community Foundation benefits greatly from the collective experience of this impressive group of community leaders.

2017 Board of Directors

Arthur H. “Hy” Bunn
 – Community Foundation Board Chair and President and CEO of Bunn-O-Matic Corporation
Mr. Bunn has been involved with a number of community, business and other organizations over the years. He also served on the Community Foundation’s Advisory Council for five years before joining the board of directors.


Tricia Nelson Becker Community Volunteer

Mrs. Becker previously worked in medical research administration, specifically in the area of human research subject ethics and in the generation of medical research protocols. She is a board member of the Springfield Art Association and the Sangamon Valley Youth Symphony, is an active member of District 186 Parent Teacher Organizations, and is a troop leader for Girl Scouts of Central Illinois. Within the Community Foundation community, she has been a member of Young Philanthropists, Women for Women and the Advisory Council.

 Harry Berman
Harry J. Berman, Ph.D. – Community Volunteer
Dr. Berman is professor emeritus of human services at the University of Illinois Springfield. Prior to his retirement in June 2011, Berman served for 5 years as provost and then interim chancellor of the University of Illinois Springfield. Since March 2008, he has served as chair of the Steering Committee of the Continuum of Learning, a partnership aimed at increasing educational attainment and maximizing economic opportunity for the people of Sangamon County. He also serves on the board of the United Way of Central Illinois.

G. Virginia Conlee
 – Community Volunteer
Ms. Conlee is a former Peace Corps volunteer and educator and is retired from the State of Illinois after serving 31 years in children’s services. She is a founding member of Women for Women and has served as a board member of Senior Services of Central Illinois, as a trustee of The Hope Institute Foundation, and is a past chairman of the board of The Hope Institute for Children and Families.

Kevin W. Crumly
 – Troxell Financial Advisors
Mr. Crumly is the senior wealth manager and co-founder of Troxell Financial Advisors. He is a member of the Illinois CPA Society, the American Institute of Certified Public Accounts, Estate Planning Council and the Greater Springfield Chamber of Commerce.

Katherine S. Germeraad
 – Community Volunteer
Mrs. Germeraad has a background in education. She has served as a board member of Friends of Memorial and on its Grant Committee; as a board member of the Springfield Art Association and State Museum Society Board; in various roles in Parent Teacher Organizations within the Springfield School District 186; and as an elder of Westminster Presbyterian Church and on its Personnel Committee. She is also a founding member of Women for Women. She and her husband, Randy Germeraad, received the Kevin Lehman Award from Springfield High School.

Allen Grosboll - Public Policy Advocate and Community Volunteer
Mr. Grosboll is a Legislative Director for the Environmental Law and Policy Center focusing on clean energy development, energy efficiency and natural resource protection. He was active in Illinois state government for 26 years, serving as Deputy Chief of Staff and Senior Advisor to Governor Jim Edgar, as well as other positions. Mr. Grosboll and his family live in Petersburg where he is active in local and statewide non-profit organizations, including New Salem Lincoln League, PORTA Education Foundation, The Wetlands Initiative and Edgar Fellows Program. 


Cynthia Lamar - Community Volunteer
Ms. Lamar is an attorney and government affairs officer at Horace Mann Insurance Companies. She is active in professional and trade associations, addressing issues at the local, state, and national levels. Ms. Lamar is an experienced community volunteer, with many years of leadership with the Junior League of Springfield. She is a founding member of Women for Women, and has served on its grants and program committees. She is active in Blessed Sacrament Parish, where she chaired its 2016 annual auction and serves on its school advisory board and development committee.


Dennis C. Miner – Community Volunteer
Mr. Miner served the State of Illinois for 30 years, most recently as chief financial officer at the Illinois Department on Aging and chief financial officer at the Illinois Emergency Management Agency. He has also served on several boards including the Mu Delta Lambda Charitable Foundation, Lincoln Land Community College Board and Financial Partners Credit Union. He is a graduate of Southeast High School and Illinois State University, and he and his wife Rebecca reside in Springfield.

Bruce A. Sommer – Bluestem Ventures
Mr. Sommer has been teaching a variety of graduate courses over the past ten years at the University of New Hampshire’s Whittemore School of Business and Economics. He is currently a visiting lecturer and entrepreneur-in-residence at the University of Illinois Springfield leading initiatives in innovation and family business at the Center for Entrepreneurship. He has been a member of the Young Philanthropists giving circle at the Community Foundation since 2008. 

Roe Stone – Manager, Monsanto Company 
In addition to being involved in her family's farming entities, Roe Stone works in the Regional Brands Division of Monsanto Company. Roe has served as board chair and member of The Parent Place and Lincoln Land Community College, and she has served on the board of directors for The Community Volunteer Center. She was also elected as one of “Illinois’ Ladies of Agriculture” in 2009 by the Illinois Director of Agriculture.

Bruce E. Thompson – Tax Partner, Sikich LLP
Bruce E. Thompson, CPA, CFP, is a tax partner at Sikich with more than 31 years of experience in tax compliance and estate planning. Prior to his work at Sikich, he was director of tax services at McGladrey & Pullen, LLP. Bruce has served as a board member for several non-profits including Crisis Pregnancy Center; Knights of Columbus 4179; Downtown Springfield Heritage Foundation, where he served as treasurer; and St. Joseph’s Catholic Church in Chatham.

Our Stories

Eck Family Fund Looks to the Future
Read more

Stay Informed

Sign up for our newsletter and receive